Procol Harum

the Pale

PH on stage | PH on record | PH in print | BtP features | What's new | Interact with BtP | For sale | Site search | Home

                     "Salad Days (Are Here Again)"
                      (Gary Brooker - Keith Reid)


        (solo piano):

        D7       G        C        D
        / / / /  / / / /  / / / /  / / / /

Verse 1:

             D7            G            C                D
        You come to me at midnight, and say its dark in here
             D7                G                  C              D
        You know you robbed me of my sight, and light is what I fear
           Bm             /A               E/G#           Em/G
        I tell you that I can not see, but you persist in showing me
               D              G             D
        Those bangles that I paid for long ago


              F                Bb
        And though my face is smiling
             F     Am/E     Dm
        I'm really feeling low
          F                    Bb
        Though you say you're with me
           F        Am/E     D
        I know that it's not so

        G         A         G        D        [4: 2X]
        / / / /   / / / /   / / / /  / / / /
        G         A         G       (D)
        / / / /   / / / /   / / / /

Verse 2:

        Your skin crawls up an octave, your teeth have lost their gleam
        The peach has snuggled closer down into the clotted cream
        And for some unknown reason my watch begins to chime
              D                G                  C               D
        And though I beg and plead with you, you tell me its not time

[repeat chorus]

Instrumental break:

        [organ solo - chords as per verse 2 and chorus]

Verse 3 [chords as per verse 2]:

        The sun seeps through the window to see if we're still dead
        To try to throw some light upon the gloom around our bed
        At quarter past the doorbell rings, the water faucet drips and sings
        And still my reason will not rhyme, and still you tell me its not time

[repeat chorus]

[repeat intro; end cold on D]

-- another ace 60's tab from Andrew Rogersend cold on D] -- another ace 60's tab from Andrew Rogers